20
Apr
09

Will Work For Good Music

work-signI’ve never been that great at science, so I’m not sure how difficult it would be or even if its possible to defy all logic and travel through time, but I’m willing to speak with anyone who thinks they can create a time machine for me. If you could send me back to around…..hmmm, say 1995, I’d truly appreciate it. As a music lover, I have to have music around me. Whether it’s at home, on the road, while working or in class, I need to have something in my ear that sounds so good, I don’t hear anything else. I like to tune out when I listen to music. Nowadays, whenever I tune into the radio, I want to tune right back out after about 30 seconds. The state of Hip Hop and R&B is depressing me ladies and gentleman. Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe I’m just not giving things a chance. Maybe I’m just getting old. Who knows? But to me, Swag Surfin, doing the Stanky Legg and Turning My Swag On are all synonyms for “grab the iPod!” Maybe I need to expand my taste in music, but I can’t help what I like. And I can’t help that I feel like my favorite musical genres have turned to straight garbage.

Please somebody take me back to the time when music was good. When the lyrics meant something and the beat was right on point. When it was fun but still had some type of rhyme and reason. When the first and only word out of a rappers mouth wasn’t “swag”. When TRUE singing was on display without the help of Auto-Tune. Leave that to T-Pain. That’s his thing……..plus, he needs it.

By the way, someone let Soulja Boy know that true swagger doesn’t need to be turned off, because its always on. After all, how can he dream of the next HORRIBLE song he releases in his sleep if his swag is turned off?

I am 27 years young, so I’m a late 80’s early 90’s child. During my high school days, Bad Boy was where it was at. Now whenever I think of Bad Boy Records, I think of how it used to be and how it is now. Now translates into, “how long before Q knocks out Brian?” I can’t even front though, Making The Band is sort of entertaining and Day 26 IS talented. There are tons of artists from that era that I am leaving out, but I miss Biggie (may he RIP). I miss 112. I miss Total. I miss Carl Thomas (Well…Emotional Carl Thomas). I miss Faith Evans. Actually, the last two artists could release an album this year if they wanted to and still get plenty of spins…..but y’all know what I mean. Music just ain’t the same anymore.

I find myself listening to stuff I heard my older brothers and sisters playing when I was 10, 11, 12. Don’t get me wrong; there are current artists who I know, love and support like Musiq Soulchild, Keyshia Cole, Kanye, Common, Raheem DeVaughn, Jill Scott to name a few……but we aren’t hearing as much enough about some of them like I think we should. Instead, I’m forced to listen to some dude trying to convince some girl that he’ll gladly be Boyfriend #2. By all means—anyone reading this who knows of some songs or artists who aren’t getting their opportunity to shine and you believe they deserve it, please leave some suggestions.

So with that all of that said, I’m leaving y’all with a handful of mid-90’s throwback tracks that might make you nod your head, bring a smile to your face as you reminisce about where you were during your earliest memories of the song or even force to you to get from behind your computer and move a lil somethin.

10 Responses to “Will Work For Good Music”


  1. 1 Austin
    April 21, 2009 at 8:21 am

    I agree with you 100 percent…lady!! We need these artists to “school” the artists of today: Erik B and Rakim, Big Daddy Kane, The Jungle Brothers, Special Ed, Salt N Peppa, Ice Cube, Heavy d, Dr. Dre, Ice T, Guy, New Edition, Dougie Fresh, Public Enemy, Melli Mel?, Kool Mo Dee, LL Cool J, A tribe Call Quest, De La Soul, MC Lyte, Method Man, Boogie down Productions (KRS1), Run DMC, Beatie boys, EPMD, The Fat Boys, Biz Markie,Curtis Blow, Tone Loc, …etc……”These Cats” are the truth…the real Deal. “True Hip Hop spoke to me”. This crap Music on the radio(95.5, 92.3, 93.9…Washington DC stations) today has turned me to listening to rock music and classical music.

    Please change the clock back…can you do the “back to the future” movie, but only with Music. I like what you are trying to do….start a Music Revolt!!!

  2. 4 Lady
    April 21, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Thanks for the comment! You are so right. I didn’t forget about any of the folks you named, but I wanted to pinpoint some artists from that Bad Boy Era that I grew up listening to, reciting word for word in each song, so thank you for bringing back those all too familiar names. 🙂 Hmmmmm……I’m thinking that Da FiF Floor is going to have to hold some “Old School Hip-Hop and R&B” Fridays, with the help of You Tube. Stay Tuned for that!

  3. 5 Tim
    April 21, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Very true Lady, music has taken a step back no doubt. There’s still some good stuff, like you said, you just gotta look a lil deeper to find it. You won’t find it listening to FM radio though lol.

    • 6 Lady
      April 21, 2009 at 5:46 pm

      Thanks for the comment. That’s the problem though–I don’t want to HAVE to look for it, lol. I want to be able to turn the radio on and not cringe *shaking my head*. I even cringed while listening to Sirius radio. The only reason I listen to the radio for more than 5 minutes now, is to hear Steve Harvey’s radio show, lol.

  4. 7 flave1969
    April 23, 2009 at 6:16 am

    I have felt the way you do for a long time. I have not listened to Radio save for a couple of regular shows we get here in the UK for the past 10 years or more. My ipod and my phone is full of what we here in the UK call 80’s grooves and 90’s Hip/Hop. All the youtube songs above get regular rotation in our house but I do wonder why no song has knocked Fool’s Paradise of from being my Ringtone. My Phone Alarm is Green Light as it seemed a really appropriate song to wake up too but not many songs break into my regular listening like this.

    If you are going to run an R&B Friday could I make a request and suggest “Love Changes” by Kashif and Me’lisa Morgan.

    Kind of lets folks know where my influences are rooted.

    • 8 Lady
      April 23, 2009 at 10:51 pm

      Obviously, I agree with you wholeheartedly, Flave. Ten years is a pretty long protest, so that alone shows where things are with the state of music in your mind, lol. Thanks for sharing and for your suggestion. Look for it tomorrow, along with a few other videos that will hopefully start your weekend off right!


Leave a Reply

